The Most Hated Family in America

The other night I saw a documentary called “The Most Hated Family in America”. The documentary was done by the BBC’s Louis Theroux and can be found here:

http://documentaryheaven.com/louis-theroux-most-hated-family-in-america/

So, rather than bore you with the lame introduction as to how/why I found this documentary about “The Westboro Baptist Church” I think I’ll just jump right into how I felt after watching this piece of film.

My feelings after watching the hour long documentary were initially that of plain disgust. I couldn’t understand how people are capable of such raw and pure hatred of, as it appears everything and everyone. However, after thinking about what I saw and heard my feelings started to shift more towards that of fear.

I can say with absolute sincerity that what I saw horrified me. Reason being, these people aren’t just religious fanaticals, they’re members of society. They work and interact with the public every day of their lives. They’re surrounded by those they consider “Rebels” and “Fag-lovers” every single day.

This horrifies me because of the pure hatred these people are capable of. I fear that when they’re in public places they manage to underhandedly influence others into either accepting their hatred, or enrage them enough to make them get upset.

Take for instance the fact that there are many members of “The Westboro Baptist Church” that are children under the age of 18. That means these children go to school. Yes, some are home-schooled but some do go to public school and I fear that these children have such hate infused into them that it rubs off on their classmates.

We know how impressionable youth is, if a child is confident, outgoing and “Cool” the others want to be like them. The children who are members of “The Westboro Baptist Church” all seem like very confident, outgoing children who are probably viewed as “Cool” by some of their classmates. Therefore, these other children are more than likely being influenced to follow the views of “The Westboro Baptist Church”. I also think it’s highly likely that these children bully others into feeling badly about not sharing their beliefs.

Now, it also bears mentioning that right before viewing “America’s Most Hated Family” I saw about a half hour of a documentary on “The Ku Klux Klan”. I did not catch the name of that documentary but, it did provide me with a very nice contrast for “America’s Most Hated Family”.

The documentary on the “Ku Klux Klan” pointed out that most members of the clan aren’t outwardly hostile towards people of different races, religions, or sexual orientations. Members of the clan generally interact very well with other non-white people; they just do not associate with them in their private lives.

The reason I bring this up is because it’s just mind blowing to me that members of “The Ku Klux Klan” are capable of being so kind and understanding to those that are different from them but “The Westboro Baptist Church” have no ability to even tolerate those of other views, and orientations.

I don’t have much of a conclusion for this, all I can say is I hope that you found it interesting and that it made you want to take a look into the topics I discussed.

Alright, well that’s my rant or whatever you want to call it for now. I haven’t done any writing in a while, and I apologize for how rough and poorly written this is so, I reserve the right to go back in and edit it at some point. Anyway, I should be doing more writing in the future and promise to bore you further by posting anything I find “Blog worthy”.

Edit:

After reflecting on this post and having a couple discussions about it I feel I need to make a couple things clear.

This article appears to humanize the “Ku Klux Klan” and I did not mean to do that at all. I was trying to get across the point that “The Westboro Baptist Church” is so terrifying that they make “The Ku Klux Klan” look like nice people.

That’s not to say some Klan members aren’t nice people but, that’s a topic for another day.

About lkamon

I am a man, I occasionally eat and poop. Not usually at the same time.
This entry was posted in Documentary, Film, Opinion, Religion, Television and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Most Hated Family in America

  1. I gotta say having grown up in the South most of the rank and file laypeople are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. However, niceness does not always equate with open minded so therein lies the paradox. As long as you are a good ole southern gent or gal with identical cookie cutter values they can be the most loving people you’ve ever met.

Leave a Reply

